Columbia Basin Trust adds trio to Board of Directors

By Contributor
February 26th, 2024

 Three new members are joining the Board of Directors of Columbia Basin Trust, becoming part of the 12-member Board which helps ensure that the organization continues to support the efforts of the people in the Columbia Basin.

The new members are Angus Graeme from Nelson, Karen Hamling from Nakusp and Christine Hoechsmann from Cranbrook.

Departing directors are Carol Andrews from Castlegar, Corky Evans from Winlaw, David Raven from Revelstoke and Aimee Watson from Kaslo.

“With current members departing and new ones joining, the Trust’s board continues to include diverse voices from throughout the Columbia Basin,” said Katrine Conroy, Minister of Finance and the Minister Responsible for Columbia Basin Trust.

“I’d like to welcome Angus, Karen and Christine, and to thank departing members Carol, Corky, Dave and Aimee for their service.”

Owen Torgerson from Valemount has been elected Vice-Chair and Jocelyn Carver from Nelson continues as Chair.

“Having fresh voices around the table will enhance the expertise already present, helping to ensure that we consider a wide variety of perspectives when faced with issues and decisions,” said Jocelyn Carver, Chair.

“We extend our gratitude to Board members—current and past—for dedicating their time and energy to the Trust.”

A Nelsonite since 1990, Angus Graeme recently retired from a 30-year career at Selkirk College, including 11 years as President and CEO. He is a certified executive coach and retired registered professional forester, serves on the Selkirk College Foundation Board and is External Co-Chair of the BC Council on Admissions and Transfer and a volunteer advisor for the Canadian NGO Catalyste+, among other roles.

Karen Hamling moved to Nakusp in 1971 and has served the community in many ways over the decades, including in positions with Arrow Lakes Hospital, as a Village councillor for 11 years and as Mayor for 13 years. She was Vice-Chair of the Columbia Basin Treaty Local Governments Committee, plus was the first female elected Chair of the Regional District of Central Kootenay.

In 2003, Christine Hoechsmann left the coast to relocate to Cranbrook. With a Bachelor of Science from the University of British Columbia in hand, she took over and expanded her family’s furniture business and has remained deeply involved in the community ever since. This has included serving two years as President of the Cranbrook Chamber Board and she currently sits on the East Kootenay Foundation for Health Board.

All directors must reside in the Basin.

The five regional districts in the Basin and the Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a director, and the Province of BC appoints the remaining six directors.

For biographies and more information on the Board of Directors, visit ourtrust.org/board.

This post was syndicated from https://thenelsondaily.com
Categories: BusinessGeneral

Other News Stories