Rossland Museum Director to serve on BC Museum Association Council

Rossland Telegraph
By Rossland Telegraph
November 2nd, 2016

Joelle Hodgins, Director of the Rossland Museum and Discovery Centre, has been elected to serve on the  British Columbia Museums Association Council. 

She is one of six new members of the Council, along with Jodi Simpkin, executive director of Nuyumbalees Cultural Centre; Catherine Ouellet-Martin, administrative manager of the Beaty Museum of Biological Diversity; Kit Grauer, UBC Professor Emerita; Daniel Smith, vice-president of the board of the Nuyumbalees Cultural Centre; and lawyer Danielle Lemon.

The BC Museums Association was founded in 1957, to provide a forum for networking, advocacy, innovation and professional development for the continuing benefit and improvement BC’s museums, galleries and related communities.  

Continuing members of its Council are:  David Alexander (President), head of archives at the Royal BC Museum; Tania Muir (Vice President), University of Victoria Cultural Resource Management Programs Director; Rebecca Clarke (Treasurer), executive director at Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site; Nataley Nagy (Secretary), executive director of  Kelowna Art Gallery; Peter Ord (Past President), managing director of the Robert Bateman Centre; Scott Marsden, Haida Gwaii Museum’s executive director, and Hanna Cho, NGX Interactive Producer. 

The Association also welcomed new executive director Erica Mattson.  For more information about the BC Museums Association and what it does, go to:



Other News Stories