CBT gets $3.34 mill to bring high-speed Internet to the Koots

July 10th, 2015

Everyday tasks that were once done in person, such as shopping, communicating, learning and banking, are now done online. To help Canadians have better access to these and many other online opportunities, the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Industry and Minister Responsible for British Columbia, and David Wilks, Member of Parliament for Kootenay–Columbia, announced that the Government of Canada will provide $3.34 million to Columbia Basin Trust to bring high-speed Internet services to approximately 11,000 households in British Columbia.

“Columbia Basin Trust is committed to bringing better broadband to the Columbia Basin–Boundary region, and this funding is an important step forward in giving over 11,000 households the ability to participate fully in the digital world,” said Neil Muth, President and CEO, Columbia Basin Trust. “Thank you to the Minister, the Government of Canada, our local government partners and Internet service providers for their efforts in bringing affordable high-speed Internet services to our communities.”

Under the Connecting Canadians program, the Columbia Basin Trust will receive $3.34 million to connect approximately 11,000 households in the Kootenay region, including in Ainsworth Hot Springs, Baynes Lake, Beaver Valley, Blewett, Boswell, Boundary (Bridesville to Christina Lake), Bountiful, Brisco, Canal Flats, Canyon, Crawford Bay, Deer Park, Edgewater, Edgewood, Elk Valley, Elko, Fairmont Hot Springs, Ferguson,Field, Fruitvale, Genelle, Glade, Grasmere, Gray Creek, Harrogate, Harrop, Jaffray, Kingsgate, Kitchener, Lister, Moyie Lake, Northern Kootenay Lake communities, Parson, Renata, Riondel, Ross Spur, rural Rossland, Salmo, Sirdar, Slocan Valley, Spillimacheen, South Slocan,Tarrys, Thrums, Wasa, West Creston, Whatshan Lake and surrounding area, Wilmer, Windermere, Wynndel, Yahk and Ymir.

The Trust’s subsidiary, Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation, will be coordinating this project and working with the following 12 Internet service providers:

·         China Creek Internet Services Ltd.

·         Columbia Wireless Inc.

·         East Shore Internet Society

·         Edgewood Community Internet Society dba: Inonoaklin Edgewood   Broadband

·         FlexiNET Broadband Inc.

·         Kaslo InfoNet Society

·         Peak Broadband Solutions

·         0764016 B.C. Ltd dba: SWIFT Internet

·         Tough Country Communication Ltd.

·         Trout Lake BC Internet Society

·         Warner E. Einer dba: WINK Wireless

·         Yahk Area Communications Society.


This post was syndicated from https://castlegarsource.com

Other News Stories