Thanks from the U19 Film Fest!

By Contributor
May 12th, 2014


The annual Under 19 Film Festival was a great hit once again! For the seventh year in a row we have had an abundance of great young filmmakers share their creations with us and had a wonderful group of volunteers and sponsors who put the show into action.

This year the Rossland Council for Arts and Culture collaborated.

with the newly formed Rossland Youth Action Network and incorporated the event into Rossland Youth Week. Over one hundred children, youth and adults were filling Rossland’s historic Miners’ Hall. Among the crowd were many of the filmmakers themselves. These talented young artists ranged from 6 years to 18 years of age and came from right here in Rossland to as far as Crawford Bay.  The range of films were as diverse as the applicants

themselves. Six of the submitted productions were awarded prizes in different categories.

Winners went home with a $150 cash prize ($75 for Mini Clips), a unique U19 trophy, a Mini-Olaus, created for RCAC by Matt Titheridge of Moustache Metalworks and a limited edition Youth Action Network T-shirt.

Congratulations to Rossland’s very own Caelum Scott for his triple win at the  Festival. Caelum won Best Action Film for his movie “The Race”, Best-Mini Clip for “Dear Santa” and came home with the coveted Columbia Power Corporation sponsored People’s Choice Award for “The Evolution of Caelum”. Congratulations also to Bailey Page for her wins in two categories: Best Drama for “Paisley Randell – Gone” and Best Sports Film for her entry “Atlas 2013”. Last but not least, congratulations to Connor Dunham for the Best Comedy Film entitled “Ye’ Old West”.  These films can be viewed on the U19 website: www.u19filmfestival.com.

The second half of the evening, commenced with a humourous and inspiring talk from Rossland’s own Ryan Gibbs, co-creator of the movie ”Lifecycles”,  about his passion for the film world. The evening ended with a unique documentary showcasing an exchange between students from Nelson and Fort Mcpherson. The film fest was wonderfully capturing until the very end.

RCAC would liek to take this opportunity to thank all the people involved who worked hard to help make this year’s Film Festival another success:

Thank you to Ryan Gibbs for his significant participation inspiring these young filmmakers and thank you to the Micah May and Digby Benner for presenting the documentary and sharing their once in a lifetime experience.

A big thank you to the Youth Planning Committee: Ellie Knox, James Klemmensen, Rhianna Connelly, Aven Cosbey, Keegan Fry, Connor Dunham, Liam Barnes, and Shahid Livingston! A special thanks to Aven and Keegan for their marvelous jobs as the MCs of the evening.

Thank you also to our Judges for their time and diligence evaluating the submissions: Giles Chrisfield, Liam Barnes, Shane Hayworth, Samanta Fleming and especially Nicole Rose from RCAC for her additional position as co-coordinator. 

Another big thank you to Zeb Hansell for organizing the technical side of the festival and ensuring that everything ran smoothly. and a huge thank you to Mike Kent for his collaboration and all his time and effort spent as the coordinator.

We would like to thank our sponsors Columbia Power Corporation, the Nelson & District Credit Union, Kootenay Savings Credit Union, Columbia Basin Trust, Kootenay Association for Science and Technology, & Kootenay Savings as well as BC Gaming and the BC Arts Council.

And of course, thank you to all of the generous local businesses that donated beautiful door prizes: Revolution Cycles, the Rossland School of Motion, Out of the Cellar, Rossland Recreation, The Flying Steamshovel, Cafe Books, Nicole Rose RMT, the Columbia Basin Trust, the Seven Summits Centre for Learning and the Rossland Youth Action Network.

And thanks to everyone who entered a film. You are all very talented and made another festival possible.

THANK YOU EVERYBODY!!! We look forward to next year!

Categories: Arts and Culture

Other News Stories