Back to top

Opinions

by David Suzuki on Tuesday Jun 25 2019

The economy-versus-environment debate is wrong-headed in elevating a changeable human construct to the same level or above the natural systems on which our health and well-being depend.

by Sara Golling on Monday Jun 24 2019

Last Thursday, Rosslanders may have seen a pedal-powered “trishaw” demonstrating its ability to carry a couple of passengers at a time – and, with the help of the electric “pedal-assist” motor, make it all the way to the top of town.

by Canadian Centre... on Sunday Jun 23 2019

As Canadians from coast to coast to coast grapple with record-breaking wildfires, floods and other extreme weather events, a new report finds that many Canadian governments—at both the federal and provincial level—are moving in the wrong direction on climate policy.

by David Suzuki on Tuesday Jun 18 2019
We’re caught in a bad cycle. Global greenhouse gas emissions are still rising, causing more extreme weather events and temperature swings. Hotter than normal weather in some places and colder in others means more people are using heat and air conditioning, which creates more emissions…
by Sara Golling on Tuesday Jun 18 2019

“Maim”isn’t a word we often hear these days, but it’s what fireworks too often do – cause blindness, blow people’s hands off, or maybe just a finger or two … add “maim” to your vocabulary, kids, especially if you like playing with fireworks.  They can maim you.

by Dermod Travis on Monday Jun 17 2019

One of the great things about not knowing exactly what it is you're looking for is the shock that can come when you do find something.

It started with some sponsored advertising content for Mother's Day by the now defunct West Coast Tap House in a May 2012 issue of the Goldstream Gazette.

by John Horgan on Thursday Jun 13 2019

In my travels throughout the province, I get to meet people who have different ideas about what makes B.C. a good place to live. Something that stands out to me is that most people agree on the power of education to change lives.

by David Suzuki on Wednesday Jun 12 2019

What’s the top solution for resolving the human-caused climate crisis? According to Paul Hawken, it’s educating girls and improving family planning.

by The Narwhal on Monday Jun 10 2019

Following intensive lobbying by the oil and gas industry, the unelected Canadian Senate has approved more than 180 controversial amendments to Bill C-69. Experts describe the amendments as incoherent, badly drafted and an attempt to dodge climate change considerations.

By Sarah Cox, for The Narwhal

by Letters to the ... on Sunday Jun 09 2019

To The Editor:

When I arrived in Nelson 49 years ago, I was deeply saddened by how the local environment was being treated.

The City of Nelson was burying garbage on its Kootenay River waterfront and occasionally burning cardboard and wood waste there. The Kootenay Forest Products mill pumped smoke into the air and spewed fly ash throughout Fairview.

Pages